Parenthood

We have different kind of parents…Jerry and I. Both our parents married considerably young. They’ve been through times that were tough, during their years of marriages…his parents survived, mine did not.

Don’t get me wrong, I love my mom who has single handedly tried to raise us three when my father left. I still have fond memories of my father too. They were both great parents, they had fun, they still laughed at each other and they were like a couple of teenagers in love (come to think of it, they were still somehow considered teenagers). I even told them at one time, one day I wanted to get married and be like you guys… i was only 5 or 6 years old.

I was used to being part of an incomplete family when Jerry came along and introduced me to his family, his parents.

It felt awkward at first…they seemed conventional, so different from my fond memories of my parents. I thought to myself, there’s no way i can be like jerry’s mom, putting everyone elses’ needs before herself. I thought she must be very unhappy, unlike my mom who always voiced out her wants and desires. But i couldnt be more wrong. Jerry’s mom is the rock of the family. Her children are always feeling secure and loved. Her husband is always well taken care of. Again, its different from my family where we were taught to be more independent, life is tough so we must be tougher. We never feel secure, at least i never feel secure. We always have to learn how to survive somehow.

I learn so many things from the two moms. They have different style of parenting. No one is completely right or completely wrong. I respect them both, and i hope to be at least half as great as them to baby L.

As for fathers, needless to say jerry’s father is consistently here. It helps to think that he’s here to back you up no matter what. As for my father…well, when i see him we’ll continue this conversation. But im grateful, i still do have my Father in Heaven, who’ve always been my rock and salvation, who always hold my hands when i fall.

Parenthood… here we come. If you’re reading this baby L, forgive us if we make many many mistakes. But we love you, and have your best interest at heart. Also… know that God loves you, coz you’re His gift to us.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment